Media Diary 2 :how can I concentrate with the Internet…

12 Oct

After I submitted my diary yesterday, Shine showed me an Youtube video of our National Day fireworks show via MSN. Although the quality of video is not well, it is still good for us can be a part of the event.

I woke up about 9:30am today and took bus to school. I always find that is interesting that there are little advertising on bus in Gainesville no matter on bus body or inside. The advertising I saw on bus is most from RTS that is quite different from Taiwan. In Taiwan, we can see all kinds of advertising on bus. There are even televisions in which we can watch some mini shows and advertising in bus.

I arrived the student lab in Reitz Union about 10:15am to print my handout for presentation. I used the pc in lab accessing to Gator mail to print files. However, it did not work. So I decided to go to class first since I was already late.

The lecture in class is interesting. We saw many Youtube videos today. After class, I went to student lab again to print my handout for class. It finally worked but it still took me too much time to print 23 copies when I can only print 1 copy a time. I had a quick lunch in order to obtain much time to prepare my presentation. I turned on my laptop in classroom using Google Dictionary to consult some terms which I may use in presentation. During presentation, I showed some videos and the response turned out quite well. I was really happy about that since I spent much time on editing the video and convert it. I found about 5 software to convert it and finally succeeded with the 5th one.

I came home around 5:50pm and turned on my laptop immediately. I checked my email and got a comment on my diary yesterday. It only wrote “more good very good.” Despite knowing that it is spam, I was still curious and clicked its URL. The comment is from a car insurance company. Well…it is not a good marketing move I have to say. Wrong medium, wrong audience and wrong way. After accessing Facebook and logging in MSN as usual, I went to cook my dinner. Only by logging in the website and messenger already made me feeling at ease.

I checked friends Facebook status and watched Korean drama on Funshion while eating. And then I accessed Wikipedia to find the basic background of South Korea. Whenever I use Wikipedia, I just cannot stop. It is like Youtube which I can always link to other interesting things.

After about 1.5 hours of Wiki, I started to read finally. Because I had to use Google Dictionary while studying, I could not turn off my laptop. It is not a good environment for me to study within the Internet world. I really have to find some ways to concentrate…

2 Responses to “Media Diary 2 :how can I concentrate with the Internet…”

  1. Mindy McAdams October 12, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    That is a very amazing fireworks display! Wow! I have seen some great fireworks (when I lived in New York — the Fourth of July fireworks on the East River are very good), but that was much better!

    Interesting observation about the ads on the RTS bus. There are much better ads, and more different ones, on buses and subways in New York and D.C., so I know what you mean. I’m not aware of any mini-TVs on any U.S. buses or trains. I think I would hate that. However, I have seen TV screens showing advertising in the Paris Metro (not on the train, but on the platform).

    Why did you have to edit the video and convert the files? Was it an original video that you shot?

    I think this is the first time in a media diary that the student has mentioned Wikipedia. Hm, we should discuss that in class!

  2. chentingchen October 13, 2010 at 1:52 am #

    The advertising on bus thing is already confusing me for a long time. I noticed that there are a little more advertising now than last year. But the numbers are still less than any other place I ever seen. Maybe because it is not a big commercial city I guess.
    The video I edited is from Friends. Because I only needed some parts in one episode and the file I got is rm format which cannot be played in powerpoint. I had to cut the video and convert it to wmv format.

Leave a Reply

